Half Marathon Training in Full Swing! Plus my new favorite power snack

I did it! I’m still alive to report that I successfully finished the first long run in my modified, very shortened version, half marathon training schedule. I ran 10 miles in 1:38:10, which comes out to almost a 10/mile even. I was hoping to finish the half marathon in under 2 hours or with a pace of about 9:30/mile, which I’m still not counting out! It’s just going to be an awful lot of work to pick up that kind of time in 4 weeks. I guess it’s just another challenge, right?! If there is one thing I have learned from training for this race, it’s that what you put in your body can make a world of difference. I’ve always eaten pretty healthy, but it was never to any extreme. It was mostly just because I genuinely enjoy fruits and vegetables. Unfortunately, I let myself cheat quite often on my diets and I never really saw the problem with grabbing a soda or candy every once in awhile (ok, ok probably once a week). Well I found another bandwagon and jumped right on! I am now following a “clean eating” diet and loving it! I can’t say that I follow it to an extreme or even all day every day, BUT what was I supposed to do with the food I had already bought before I decided to try this…I couldn’t just throw it out (nice rationalization am I right?). However, on a day when I have a long run, or really just even a run, I make sure to eat the right foods before I head out and it has honestly made big difference for me. I personally have a pretty difficult time getting enough protein in a day. I’m not a big meat eater, I can go without it for weeks and not even realize it, so I’ve had to make a conscience effort to take more in. I have done this in  couple of different ways, but I want to share this totally awesome Power Muffin recipe I found through the Domesticated Academic. I changed a few things up in the recipe to reduce the calorie count a little bit…swimsuit season is right around the corner and all!

Power Muffins:

Recipe makes 6 regular muffins.

no-stick cooking spray
1 cup all-purpose whole wheat flour
1/2 cup Oatmeal – I used quick oats, plain
1/3 cup Stevia
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
6 ounces Nonfat Honey Greek Yogurt – I used a 5.3 oz. container of Fage Total 0% Honey Greek Yogurt (honey comes on the side)
1 Large Egg
1 Tbsp Unsalted Butter
1 Tbsp Applesauce – This is my own modification for fewer calories
1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
1/2 cup Fresh Blueberries

  • Heat oven to 350
  • Coat muffin tin with cooking spray
  • Combine flour, stevia, oatmeal, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a bowl
  • Combine yogurt, egg, butter, applesauce and vanilla in a separate bowl
  • Fold yogurt mix into the flour mixture and stir
  • Slowly add blueberries
  • Evenly pour into the muffin tin
  • Bake about 20-25 minutes

I did the math to find out the nutrition count in these muffins but now I can’t find where I put it, I’ll be sure to add that as soon as I figure it out again.
Along with the muffins I usually try to make sure I have a banana some time before I go for a long run as well. Call me superstitious but this combo has made for some serious PR’s.

And now for some pictures of weird things I saw on my 10 mile run 🙂

Just a dog...out on his daily bike ride.

Just a dog…out on his daily bike ride.

Wouldn't you be this excited if you were on a bike ride with your dog!

Wouldn’t you be this excited if you were on a bike ride with your dog!

Watch where you're going!!

Watch where you’re going!!

*Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training in Full Swing! Plus my new favorite power snack

Leave a Reply

