Training For My First Half Marathon!

Oh boy. I signed up for my first ever half marathon and it is less than 1 month away! I think I probably could have timed that a little better but I really want to get my first one under my belt and I am fully confident that I will be willing and able to finish…and hopefully in good time. The race is called the Dino Half and is located in Vernal, Utah. It’s about a 2.5hr drive from Park City so I plan to head down Friday night. I don’t think waking up at 2:30am and driving 2.5 hours is a good way to start a race day. Anyway, I’m super stoked. It is an all downhill race and you lose about 1,500 feet of elevation in the process. From what I hear you run through some of Utah’s most beautiful canyons and sandstone cliffs. I’ll be the judge of that πŸ˜‰ Even though I only have a few weeks until the race (May 4) I still decided to follow a traditional 12 week half marathon training plan, I am just starting at Week 8. My first long run is this weekend, so it will be very interesting to see how that goes!

My Modified Half Marathon Training Plan:

Week 8
Monday – Off
Tuesday – 4 Miles
Wednesday – 6 Miles
Thursday – 4 Miles
Friday – Off
Saturday – 4 Miles
Sunday – 10 Miles

Week 9
Monday – Off
Tuesday – 4 Miles
Wednesday – 6 Miles
Thursday – 4 Miles
Friday – Off
Saturday – 3 Miles
Sunday – 11 Miles

Week 10
Monday – Off
Tuesday – 4 Miles
Wednesday – 5 Miles
Thursday – 4 Miles
Friday – Off
Saturday – 4 Miles
Sunday – 12 Miles

Week 11
Monday – Off
Tuesday – 4 Miles
Wednesday – 5 Miles
Thursday – 4 Miles
Friday – Off
Saturday – 3 Miles
Sunday – 6 Miles

RACE WEEK!
Monday – Off
Tuesday – 3 Miles
Wednesday – 5 Miles
Thursday – 2 Miles
Friday – Off
Saturday – 13.1 Miles
Sunday – Recover πŸ™‚

Like I said, so far so good! But we’ll see how I’m feeling Sunday night after my first 10 miler in a LONG time! I think the last time I ran 10 miles was last Fall before Winter came. So in other words, wish me luck!

Fun little tidbit about me, a couple of years ago, back in high school for some reason that I still do not know to this day, I started calling myself SarahTops. So running the dino race and my first medal being of a dinosaur could not be more perfect for me! I think it is part of the reason I am so freaking excited!

Today was a big day of race sign-ups for me. I also signed my boyfriend and I up for the Salt Lake City Color Me Rad run! I’ll blog more about that one later, I’m sure you can already assume how excited he is for that one! hehe πŸ™‚

One thought on “Training For My First Half Marathon!

Leave a Reply

