My First Mountain Run

I’ve always considered myself to be a pretty decent runner, I played sports my whole life and I never gave up that active lifestyle (except for short stint in college…but c’mon!). Unfortunately for me, when I moved to the mountains of Utah from the flat lands of Missouri I was in for a big surprise. No one could have ever accurately warned me what the difference in not only altitude but terrain was going to do to me! Let me start with the biggest issue, I recently started running in New Balance Minimus Trail shoes, which I absolutely LOVE, but running up a rocky mountain in paper thin shoes…see where I’m going with this? Ow! So at that point I was running on what felt like two feet full of broken bones and punctured toes, I felt like it was never going to end! What’s next? OH! Just a mile long hill bring me back up 1200 feet? The best part was, I had no idea this part of the trail was here. I just kept running, painting and heeling over on turns thinking there was no question, this really did go on forever. Let me fast forward through the pain and agony that was the rest of this run. When I finished I checked my Strava Running App to see what I had accomplished in this grueling time frame – – 8 miles in over 2 hours. That was a harsh reality check.

Leave a Reply

